Archive for July 18th, 2014

h1

Living on a lake

July 18, 2014

I know there are at least two people who have been waiting patiently for me to update my blog on what it’s like to live on a lake.

I’ve tried to write this post at least 18 times, but it always ends up with me coming off as a total asshole.

Why?

I can’t lie.

It’s freaking AWESOME.

More awesome than I could ever put into words.

More so than I ever would have imagined.

I mean it is so, so fun and beautiful, I feel like I am living in a dream. I honestly don’t know what on earth I did before I lived on a lake?

How will I EVER not live on a lake again?

I am ruined. For life.

And we don’t even have a boat yet! Imagine what the jet ski and or tubing shenanigans will be like.

Here is the best way for me to show you how it is to live on a lake. And this doesn’t even really encompass my new favorite activity: longboarding. I just LOVE doing this every night around the neighborhood as the sun starts to get lower in the sky. My neighbors thought it was weird at first, but now they all wave at me as I cruise by. I think I may even get a few of them riding soon, too!

 

Anatomy of a SUP cannonball:

width="450"

 

The haul up onto the board is so graceful. Thanks, boy, for capturing this for me.

IMG_2986

IMG_2989

IMG_2990

IMG_2991

IMG_2992

 

Make sure you put on your best howler monkey face!

IMG_2993

 

Entering the water butt first is always preferred.IMG_2994

IMG_2995

IMG_2996

IMG_2998

IMG_3001

I love to go paddling in the morning as the sun rises. I have too many of these to choose from:
IMG_2692

IMG_2582

IMG_2613

IMG_2432

IMG_2475

We have even gone paddling at night under the light of a full moon:
IMG_3158

IMG_3149

I have even taken up SUP yoga:
IMG_2401

And if you believe that statement is true you don’t know me at all!

OK, we do like to hang out in the floaties, and jump off the dock:

IMG_2677

IMG_2523

IMG_2182

This is the photo I have assigned to the boy on my iPhone.

It makes me laugh every time. He has no idea (well, he will after he reads this).
IMG_2771

We are lucky to have lake access on the front and back side of the house.

The boy is showing off his new longboard on the driveway, you can see the lake behind him.
IMG_3188

This is the beach just on the other side of the road:
IMG_3052

There is a lot of wildlife here at the lake.

Almost every morning I see bald eagles. The other day there was a lot of lake fog and they were flying just inches above the water. It was SO cool. There are also blue herons, ducks, swans, geese and other assorted waterfowl.
IMG_2425

It can be exhausting to have so many things to do…

which necessitates some mid-day weekend napping:
IMG_2933

I have a million other pictures I’ve taken since we have moved here, but I think you get the picture. Living on a lake is the luckiest thing I’ve ever had happen to me! I plan to live it up as much as I can while we are here at Bragg, and research a good retirement lake spot too 😉