h1

Peace out, SAV!

July 11, 2013

What’s going on in my super exciting life as we are just hours from saying goodbye to the durty durty?

1) I am reading the most boring book I’ve bought in a loooonnnng time on my Kindle. It’s so annoying because I read the sample and it was not at all written like the rest of this book. It’s EXHAUSTING. But it wasn’t like a $1.99 book or something, so it feels like a waste to virtually throw it away. I do not recommend you read “The Woman Upstairs” unless you want to torture yourself needlessly. There has to be something seriously exciting that will happen in order for this thing to redeem itself. And even then I don’t know if it can make up for all the boring, “I’m single blah blah blah, I want kids” crap I’ve been having to skim over. Since I’ve been reading only dystopic novels about badass teenagers surviving in sewers and fighting monsters for the past year or so, this is especially painful. P.S. Do you have any dystopic novel recommendations? I swear I’ve read almost every one out there. Just because it says “young adult” doesn’t mean I won’t read it!

You know how some people are freaking OBSESSED with bacon? It drives me crazy. I mean I love chocolate but you don't see me posting about it 6x a day on FB! Anyways. This little bar is at a chocolate shop just around the corner. The boy's eaten two of these. I guess that means they are good.

You know how some people are freaking OBSESSED with bacon and they talk about it all the time? It drives me crazy. I mean I love chocolate but you don’t see me posting about it 6x a day on FB! Anyways. This little bar is at a chocolate shop just around the corner. The boy’s eaten two of these. I guess that means they are good. I wouldn’t know, because putting bacon in chocolate would RUIN it for me. Also I  don’t care for toffee.

2) I am obsessed with looking at the tattoo boards on Pinterest. I love, love, love to look. And then I think of how dumb or how cool the people must be that have them. Like the eight billion infinity symbols with a feather or a word written in: not original, ladies! Or the people that get a freaking paragraph written on their ribs in scroll-text. Good luck reading that in a few years after 10 lbs. or a baby! Oh man, I am so judge-y about them. Mostly because I think mine are the best. That’s because they are though. Even the boy knows it. Well, it’s kind of obvious because when we are out together mine get way more comments than his. Even though his required far more suffering. Anyways, if you are in the market for a tattoo and want photos and/or examples of similar types of work in the form of research, I’m your girl! My Kindle is so awesome for looking at Pinterest all day long. But not that boring home-improvement or fashion crap please. Actually, I really get a kick out of seeing what other people pin on there. I should write a blog about that.

Love!

Love!

3) Sometimes being lazy means missing out. That seems obvious, right? There are two guys that go to the gym with us but attend the class after ours. They are just a lovely couple that I always enjoy talking to. For months and months we talked about getting together for dinner but until we moved into the condo we never did. Boy were we missing out. Ben & David are just so much fun to hang out with. I am so mad we were so lazy and never hung out with them earlier. They are fascinating and smart and I just have had so much fun on the couple of outings we have had with them. Even the boy is lamenting our own laziness as it totally limited how much we got to know them outside of the gym. So everyone back here in SAV make sure you get to know Ben & David! P.S. Do you think it’s funny how when you talk about a couple you always say (or write) the one person’s name first? It’s never David & Ben, it’s Ben & David. Know what I mean?

The boy drinking a $40 shot of Pappy Van Winkle. This is a bourbon that is aged for 20 years! I guess that means it's amazing. I wouldn't know. The funny thing about this is how the boy pulled his shirt up to show off the really cool part of his sleeve. I didn't notice until looking at the photo later. He totally admitted to it. I think it's because my peacock had been a hit with some dude a few minutes before that. Everything is a competition people, everything!

The boy drinking a $40 shot of Pappy Van Winkle. This is a bourbon that is aged for 20 years! I guess that means it’s amazing. I wouldn’t know. The funny thing about this is how the boy pulled his shirt up to show off the really cool part of his sleeve. I didn’t notice until looking at the photo later. He totally admitted to doing it. I think it’s because my peacock had been a hit with some dude a few minutes before that. Everything is a competition with us, everything!

4) The Jetta nearly shit the bed this week. We have spent more than $1K in the past two weeks on that car fixing problems. I hope to hell that it doesn’t break down or something on Saturday when I am driving it to Tennessee. I normally wouldn’t be too worried, but I have been assigned to drive with Virgil and he is the stressiest cat ever. On the way to SAV from Tennessee we tried to sedate him but that backfired in a REAL bad way. He was essentially the biggest stoner kitty on the worst acid trip of his life. He was so bad that the boy had to take the other two (who are generally pretty good) so I would not crash while he freaked out for 8+ hours. Even though I successfully didn’t crash I did actually run over a pile of nails and got a flat tire. Luckily I was able to pull off into a gas station where we discovered it would take no less than a dozen people to get the lug nuts off. Those mother f-ers in the shop tighten the tires with an air gun or something so we had lots of very helpful strangers that took pity on the two of us and our car with the lunatic cat that we finally were able to get it off (leverage with a steel pipe!) and changed. Of course after unloading everything from the trunk (you know, just all the crap we were moving!) to get the tire out. Oh good lord, please don’t let that happen again! I am stressed out now thinking about that nightmare. Let’s hope this trip is a non-event.

Beatrice may be built like a tank, but she still has the cutest little kitten face. She's also very good about riding in the car. Unlike someone I know.

Beatrice may be built like a tank, but she still has the cutest little kitten face. She’s also very good about riding in the car, unlike someone I know.

5) The other day we were super bored and decided to walk to get ice cream at Leopold’s. This place is the premier ice cream shop downtown and always packed. The ice cream scoopers there work frantically as the line winds out the door and down the block and we are always social and pleasant when we go through. Because of our arm decorations we are pretty easy to remember, too and it’s always something people love to ask about. So the other day we go in and alllllll I want is some chocolate chip ice cream but I don’t see any in the bin. I ask the kid we’ve talked to before if there is any chocolate chip ice cream anywhere in the building. He says no, but that he can make me some by hand if I don’t mind waiting. Of course I will wait for some straciatella! He then made it extra chocolate-chippy by mixing chocolate chips in with vanilla ice cream. Damn, that was nice of him. I really, really enjoyed that. I may complain about the weather in the south but hell, you cannot beat the people down here.

The boy with my birthday cake martini. This was the day before his birthday so he didn't get any.

The boy with my birthday cake martini. This was the day before his birthday so he didn’t get any.

6) Speaking of sweet treats we FINALLY went to this little martini bar my girlfriends have talked about for years called Jen’s and Friends. Why had I never gone? Well, the way they talked about it never really interested me. Chocolate-based martinis? How is that even possible? It was beyond my comprehension and basically I thought they sounded nasty. We stopped in the other night to check it out and started talking tattoos with the bartender Steve (of course, he totally recognized where we’d had our work done). Anyways, I ask him for a recommendation and he makes me a Rice Krispie martini, garnished with a Rice Krispie treat. And I’ll be damned if that thing didn’t taste just like a Rice Krispie treat. I couldn’t believe it! So I ordered a Reese’s peanut butter martini. Guess what. Yep, chocolate and peanut butter. Since we were sitting at the bar and I was actually being social I got to learn about lots of other drinks including the birthday cake martini. That actually comes with a little hunk of birthday cake and a lit candle. Holy hell, it was nuts. I called it a night after that and went home to brush my teeth and count my lucky stars that last week I’d had all five (yes FIVE) of my brand new cavities filled. That junk will rot your teeth for sure.

Savannah is an art town. Isn't that obvious with this gem?

Savannah is an art town. Isn’t that obvious with this gem?

7) Speaking of sweets and rotten teeth, I feel SO fat from being slightly off-program these past few weeks. I can’t wait to get my kitchen supplies back (oh you dear, sweet food processor!) and get back to my fighting shape. All week at CrossFit I’ve been sucking. SUCKING! Like finishing last almost every single day. I need to be in a routine and not being in one as we transition is killing me. The good (and bad) thing about Clarksville is that all the restaurants are chain restaurants and basically suck. So it will be so easy to be clean again. I know even the boy is ready to get all the stray gluten floating around out of the blood stream! And to start lifting heavy on the Wendler program again. I feel like I am in atrophy mode after not squatting more than 200# in more than a month although my butt says otherwise as it is still huge, although that could be from the martinis I guess?

So there you have it. My endlessly adventurous life is full of exciting things at all times!

2 comments

  1. If you haven’t read the mortal instruments or the other series by that author, both would fit the bill 🙂


  2. So true on the name thing. I NEVER say Maija and Ryan, it’s Ryan and Maija. It just sounds weird the other way. I hope Virgil keeps his shit together and that you don’t run over a pile of nails this time.



Leave a Reply

