h1

Training ADD

December 4, 2012

I have officially diagnosed myself with training ADD.

It is something I have developed over the years, given the lack of a team sport in my life since college.

And, to be honest, it’s kind of awesome. It allows me to follow the psych, which is something that can get easily lost in the middle of a “season.” It keeps me motivated and well-rounded when I pay attention to the ADD. Makes sense, right? Exactly. How can a person with ADD pay attention?! Hahahaha!

Right now the psych has me power lifting. Now that I’ve confessed that out loud I know some of my friends are thinking, ‘WTF, Maija?!’

Here’s how it went down: I attended a goal-setting seminar probably about a month ago at my gym, CrossFit Hyperformance. Up to that point I had been pretty focused on training to go to C.R.A.S.H.-B Sprints – the World Championship of indoor rowing – in February. I even made it public, for crying out loud (it doesn’t get any more official than that, does it?)! I was confident I could place in the top 5 in my age category – in the world. IN THE WORLD. But the only problem was that I was starting to lose the motivation. I *knew* I needed to work on longer, aerobic pieces in order to be competitive but I just didn’t want to. And that’s where training can get de-railed.

Just a little of the holiday decor we have here!

Just a little of the holiday decor we have here!

So, the goal-setting clinic came at a perfect time for me. I needed something new to focus on. I was putting myself under too much pressure to row faster and faster every day, which made me feel like I should only work on sprinting because it makes you FEEL like you are getting faster thanks to the splits, even though I needed to not spend all my time on that. Olympic lifting – the clean & jerk and the snatch – are some of my favorite lifts to do. I had recently PRd my squat clean and snatch, which was awesome. However, I quickly came to realize that my strength base – i.e. my ability to stand up a front squat in the clean, or overhead squat the snatch was going to limit my ability to progress with these lifts. Basically, in order to add more weight to achieve new PRs doing the lifts I seriously love meant that I was going to have to build a better strength base.

Some people may think that sounds weird because they have this perception that I am strong. Well, I have news for you: in all actuality my strength is not in lifting HEAVY. I have this weird capacity to perform really well at moderately heavy weights. I thrive in this region, actually. However, when it starts to get LEGIT heavy, as in 1 rep max heavy, I collapse like a house of cards. Although I haven’t yet decided on a percentage breakdown, it is definitely part physical – just training under heavy loads – and part mental – feeling OK with training under heavy loads. (And right now I think with certain movements, like the back squat it’s maybe 30% physical, 70% mental just feeling that weight on my back.)

Enter the Wendler 5-3-1 program. One of my coaches, Drew, suggested following this program and setting a year-end goal of a 200 lb. back squat, something I’ve been always “wanting” to do, and have been precariously close to, but never actually trained for. He proposed doing a four-day/week rotation of back squat/front squat to just squat the $h*t outta the next four weeks and then go for that 200-lb back squat. Naturally, I was totally game.

Annnnnnnnnd that is exactly when I pulled the $h*t out of my groin. Of course. Perfect.

So, after a week and a half of serious icing, stretching, massage, mobility and being super-cautious during all the workouts (I HAD to go to the gym that week because it was Rebeccah’s last week and WE were programming!) I finally got started on the program. I modified it a bit by adding in the deadlift (since I LOVE DEADLIFTING) so I have been on a back squat, front squat, deadlift, back squat rotation for a couple of weeks now. Of course going into my HEAVY (third) week of the program I am actually going to Bozeman to go ice climbing. So there’s that. Stupid groin! If I hadn’t pulled it I would have been in my de-loading week.

Yes, that is me doing an overhead squat with the C2. A perfect combination of my love for lifting and rowing? Actually, that SOB was not easy to get up overhead at all. And I did it at an Expo. And lots of people saw me. It was a challenge for our gym, trust me, it was hilarious.

Yes, that is me doing an overhead squat with the C2. A perfect combination of my love for lifting and rowing? Actually, that SOB was not easy to get up overhead at all. And I did it at an Expo. And lots of people saw me. It was a challenge for our gym and trust me, it was hilarious.

The downside to my training ADD is that sometimes I feel like I am never going to be really good at anything. There are just too many things I like to do (rowing, OLY lifting, ice climbing, rock climbing, etc.), and I appreciate the fact that my psych keeps me moving in different directions often enough to keep me generally well-rounded. At the same time, I wonder if I could actually be REALLY good at something if I really committed to it. But then what if you lose the psych? Training becomes a chore? Then can you still really be good at it? I don’t know. I am too chicken to find out, it would seem.

How do you train? Are you a committed athlete to one sport (or multiple sports?) or do you have training ADD like me?! I am very curious to hear how other people train. Is that dorky? That’s OK. You would be bored to tears if you heard the boy and I talk about training all the time up in here! He’s doing the Wendler program right now  as well, so it also gives us some quality time when we go “wendler” together. And yes, I totally use Wendler as a verb now on a regular basis.

But yeah, ICE CLIMBING! There is a lot of psych in there, but unfortunately a lack of $$$ will limit my season this year, which also had a part in my picking up the power lifting bug. Nevertheless, I am super excited to see how ice climbing FEELS again. Especially now that I have improved my strength/weight ratio since last season and overall attitude, as in “this should be fun!” as well. I am meeting up with a bunch of my girlfriends for the ice fest, and even though I have heard there isn’t a *ton* of ice in Hyalite right now, it will still be a good time, no doubt. Mostly because it is impossible not to have fun with such a group of badass, hilarious and inspiring women.

Oh, and random, I almost forgot! One week ago there was a gal that dropped in to the 7:30 class from Bozeman of all places. Kind of odd in Savannah, actually. She had been here for a wedding and told me to stop by Bridger CrossFit when I was in town. I just may have to see if I can fit my workout clothes in with my crampons and ice tools 😉

Mittens showing off one of her little mittens. She will be staying with us for a few more weeks before moving on to her new home! She is one of the sweetest cats I have ever met.

Mittens showing off one of her little mittens. She will be staying with us for a few more weeks before moving on to her new home! She is one of the sweetest cats I have ever met. She has been staying inside after getting spayed last week and loves to eat chicken and livers.

Leave a Reply

