h1

Into the guts of it!

June 28, 2012

Wow, so here we are, June 28. It’s been almost a month since my clean eating experiment began, and I’m proud to report I’ve succeeded in not deviating from the plan. That isn’t to say it hasn’t been without its own unique – and unexpected – challenges. Let me explain.

A couple of days after my last post I got a call from the allergy doctor who I had been referred to after having a strange bout of hives the week prior to, and during my Indian Creek climbing trip…in April. Yes, it takes that long to get referrals through the system. I hadn’t been having any recent issues with hives, but thought I should talk it over with the doc and see if I had developed a potential food allergy. My initial thought was that I had – and that it was to carrots (thanks to a story I won’t bore you with) which was especially alarming as carrots are one of my all time favorite vegetables.

At the consult the doc spent some time – quite a bit of time, actually, listening to my lungs, and decided to test me for a strain of bacteria that causes walking pneumonia and at times causes random outbursts of hives. I didn’t think anything of it, since he was drawing vial after vial of blood. Needless to say, a few days later when a nurse called and told me I had tested positive – to a very high degree I came to find out – for this strain of bacteria in my system. Needless to say I was very surprised. Already this year I’ve had another serious bacterial infection – a staph infection – in my calf. I like to think I’m a pretty clean person so I have NO idea where I keep picking up these nasty strains of bacteria!

In any case, I was prescribed a 10-day heavy dose of antibiotics. And here’s where it starts to tie into the program. Those antibiotics made me feel like crap. Just absolutely nauseous and exhausted for the first 5 days, and then with the progressive and absolute cleaning out of ALL bacteria in my system (including all my “good” bacteria!) made my guts feel like they were boiling. So, because of that I have not had the benefit of the “day 14-28 feel AMAZING” part of the Whole30 since I generally felt like crud. Jen, my coach at CrossFit Hyperformance gave me some probiotics yesterday that already made a difference as last night I was able to actually sleep ALL night instead of rolling around in pain with my guts complaining loudly from 2-4 a.m.

So! There’s that. And, it’s because of that I am going to not try to re-introduce verboten food back into my diet for at least another two weeks. I think the cleaning out of all the bacteria made my system extremely deranged and I really want to see how my system feels when it’s operating more close to 100% because even though my last day of antibiotics was yesterday (hooray!) the doc said the inflammation from the infection can last another few months before it’s entirely back to normal.

Pork chops buried beneath peaches, onions & fresh basil. Yum!

OK, on to some more exciting parts of the challenge. I successfully did a climb/camp weekend while staying clean, thanks to prepping lots of veggies ahead of time! I have also been having a lot of fun looking for, and trying out lots of new recipes. Here are a few of my favorites!

Asparagus artichoke salad next to some spaghetti squash with meatballs & marinara. This was too much food to eat!

Here are a few I WILL be making in the coming days!

P.S. I “pin” most of these recipes – well the ones I find online – and so you can see what I’m scoping out for potential eats here on my Pinterest board.

Has my performance improved? It’s hard to say since there are so many variables that have been shifted, but I’d like to think I’m doing better now than I was one month ago. I’ve definitely leaned out, depending on how much water weight I’m retaining – thanks to all those fun things that go along with being a girl – I’ve dropped somewhere between 12-14 lbs. since June 1, which is pretty significant, I’d say. I did go out on a few bike rides this month and would say I am definitely NOT performing better on my bike. My legs feel ‘tired’ while riding a lot faster than they used to. But again, this bacteria & antibiotic has screwed me up in ways I don’t even fully feel yet.

Tomorrow at the gym we get a chance to see if our performance has improved, by doing Fran (again!). We did Fran the week before the challenge started and will get to do it again tomorrow. I’m not looking forward to this (who would?!) but I think if I just work on keeping my kip under control on the pull-ups, I’m certain to go faster. I mean, it *should* be easier to pull up 12-14 less lbs. x 45, right? We’ll see!

2 comments

  1. Thanks for all of the recipe sharing! I’m a Paleo newbie, and so I’m constantly searching for good recipes. So far I’m loving the diet! It’s great to read about other people’s experiences as well.


  2. You are most welcome! I feel like I am constantly in a state of trying to find good recipes. Eating good food really makes it so much easier, in my opinion!



Leave a Reply

